Archaeology

Protection and development of the Qajartalik petroglyph site (JhEv-1)

< Previous page

Since 1996

General view of sector B, site JhEv-1, facing west, 2004

General view of sector B, site JhEv-1, facing west, 2004

Since 1996, the Avataq Cultural Institute has been actively participating in studying and developing the Qajartalik petroglyph site, as well a creating a plan to protect the site for the long term.

Site description

Site JhEv-1’s petroglyphs are located in the far northeast corner of Qikertaaluk Island, on a small peninsula called Qajartalik (meaning “where there is a kayak” in Inuktitut). Qikertaaluk Island is roughly 40 km southeast of the community of Kangirsujuaq.

The site is trough-shaped, measuring approximately 130 metres in length. Outcrops of steatite are found across the site’s southeast axis. These outcrops were used for two primary purposes: the creation of petroglyphs and the extraction of the steatite blocks needed for making lamps and containers.

Site JhEv-1 has not been scientifically dated. Nonetheless, there is a strong stylistic resemblance to Dorset Era handicrafts. Further archaeological clues from the site’s steatite-mining evidence also indicate Dorset Era exploitation.

Petroglyphs combined with a steatite extraction zone, 2004

Petroglyphs combined with a steatite extraction zone, 2004

General view of sector B, facing west, 2004

General view of sector B, facing west, 2004

The petroglyphs

The Qajartalik petroglyphs are unique manifestations of Dorset Era artistic expression. Qajartalik appears to be the only place where Dorset Era peoples transposed onto soapstone, and on an enormous scale, the distinctive figures usually found on much smaller artifacts made of bone, ivory or horn.

In the early 1960s, Bernard Saladin d’Anglure documented 95 carvings at Qajartalik (Saladin d’Anglure 1962). During his later expeditions (from 1996 to 1998) with Avataq, we were able to identify an additional 70 petroglyphs, bringing the site’s total to 165. Some of Qajartalik’s petroglyphs are only visible in adequate light, and while most of them portray anthropomorphic features, they are not overt representations of human figures.

Petroglyph of a figure with sharp upper extremities and a rounded base, 2004

Petroglyph of a figure with sharp upper extremities and a rounded base, 2004

Petroglyph of a rectangular figure with a slightly rounded chin; this carving’s edges are studded rather than smoothly carved, 2004

Petroglyph of a rectangular figure with a slightly rounded chin; this carving’s edges are studded rather than smoothly carved, 2004

Petroglyph of an elongated figure with a prominent forehead ending in narrow points along each side of the face; the base of the figure is oval in shape. The carvings beneath the chin may symbolize shamanic breathwork. The whitened edges indicate relatively recent “updating” work on the carving, 2004

Petroglyph of an elongated figure with a prominent forehead ending in narrow points along each side of the face; the base of the figure is oval in shape. The carvings beneath the chin may symbolize shamanic breathwork. The whitened edges indicate relatively recent “updating” work on the carving, 2004

Site preservation

For the last decade, the Avataq Cultural Institute has been working with the federal government to have Qajartalik recognized as a world heritage site. Both unique and fragile, this monumental site requires protection. It is therefore important that legislation be passed in order to stop further vandalism and other activity detrimental to its preservation. A 2008 agreement between the Inuit of Nunavik, Nunavut, and the Federal Government concerning Nunavik’s coastal islands has allowed us to resubmit the Qajartalik site’s dossier to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Official recognition is anticipated in early 2010.

Data collection: rubbings of petroglyphs on acid-free paper, 1996

Data collection: rubbings of petroglyphs on acid-free paper, 1996

Data collection: taking pictures, 2004

Data collection: taking pictures, 2004

See the Qajartalik Petroglyphs Collection

Contact : Daniel Gendron and Louis Gagnon

Archéologie

Protection et mise en valeur du site à pétroglyphes de Qajartalik (JhEv-1)

< page précédente

Depuis 1996

Vue générale, secteur B du site JhEv-1, vers l’ouest, 2004

Vue générale, secteur B du site JhEv-1, vers l’ouest, 2004

Depuis 1996, l’Institut culturel Avataq participe activement à l’étude et à la mise en valeur du site à pétroglyphes de Qajartalik, et également à l’élaboration d’un plan de protection à long terme du site.

Description du site

Le site archéologique où se trouve les pétroglyphes (JhEv-1), est situé à l’extrémité nord-est de l’île Qikertaaluk, sur une petite péninsule nommée Qajartalik, ce qui signifie en Inuktitut « où il y a un kayak ». L’île Qikertaaluk est située à environ une quarantaine de kilomètres au sud-est de la communauté de Kangirsujuaq.

Le site a la forme d’une cuvette et fait environ 130 mètres de long. Il est traversé par des affleurements de stéatite dans son axe est-ouest. Ces affleurements ont été utilisés pour deux activités principales: d’une part, la production de pétroglyphes; et d’autre part, l’extraction de blocs de stéatite nécessaires à la confection des lampes et des contenants.

Le site JhEv-1 n’est pas directement daté. Toutefois, la ressemblance stylistique des pétroglyphes à l’art mobilier dorsétien, ainsi que les indices archéologiques recueillis sur l’utilisation de la carrière de stéatite, démontrent une exploitation durant le Dorsétien.

Pétroglyphes combinés à une zone d’extraction de stéatite, 2004

Pétroglyphes combinés à une zone d’extraction de stéatite, 2004

Vue générale du secteur B, vers l’est, 2004

Vue générale du secteur B, vers l’est, 2004

Les pétroglyphes

Les pétroglyphes de Qajartalik sont une manifestation unique de l’expression visuelle des Dorsétiens. C’est seulement à cet endroit qu’ils ont transposés à grande échelle et dans la stéatite les sculptures figuratives qui apparaissent généralement sur des fragments d’os, d’ivoire ou d’andouiller.

Au début des années ’60, Bernard Saladin d’Anglure a identifié 95 gravures à Qajartalik (Saladin d’Anglure 1962). Par la suite, au cours de ses expéditions sur le site de 1996 à 1998, Avataq a pu porter le nombre de pétroglyphes observés à 165, dont certains sont visibles seulement avec un éclairage favorable. La majorité des pétroglyphes possèdent des attributs anthropomorphiques, sans toutefois représenter spécifiquement une figure humaine.

Pétroglyphe représentant une figure aux extrémités du haut pointues et au bas arrondi, 2004

Pétroglyphe représentant une figure aux extrémités du haut pointues et au bas arrondi, 2004

Pétroglyphe de forme rectangulaire avec un léger arrondissement au menton; cette gravure possède un contour piqueté plutôt que gravé, 2004

Pétroglyphe de forme rectangulaire avec un léger arrondissement au menton; cette gravure possède un contour piqueté plutôt que gravé, 2004

Pétroglyphe représentant une figure allongée avec front proéminent qui se termine de chaque côté de la figure en pointes étroites; le bas du figure présente une forme ovale. Les projections sous le menton pourraient représenter le souffle chamanique. Le contour blanchâtre indique un «rafraîchissement» plutôt récent de la gravure, 2004

Pétroglyphe représentant une figure allongée avec front proéminent qui se termine de chaque côté de la figure en pointes étroites; le bas du figure présente une forme ovale. Les projections sous le menton pourraient représenter le souffle chamanique. Le contour blanchâtre indique un «rafraîchissement» plutôt récent de la gravure, 2004

La conservation du site

Depuis dix ans, l’Institut culturel Avataq travaille pour que le site de Qajartalik soit reconnu comme patrimoine mondial par le gouvernement fédéral. Le site est unique en soi et vu sa fragilité et sa richesse, il doit être protégé. Il est donc important qu’une législation soit appliquée pour qu’il n’y ait plus de vandalisme ou toute autre activité pouvant nuire à sa préservation. L’entente intervenue en 2008 entre les Inuits du Nunavik, le Nunavut et le Gouvernement fédéral concernant la propriété des îles côtières du Nunavik nous permet enfin de relancer le dossier de la reconnaissance de Qajartalik auprès de la Commission des Lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Cette reconnaissance devrait être officielle au début de 2010.

Collecte de données : transfert des gravures sur papier non acide par la technique du frottis, 1996

Collecte de données : transfert des gravures sur papier non acide par la technique du frottis, 1996

Collecte de données : prise de photo, 2004

Collecte de données : prise de photo, 2004

Voir la collection de pétroglyphes [lien vers la collection]

Contact : Daniel Gendron et Louis Gagnon